The 2018 DSR Raggy Award Nominations

With the year coming to an end, that can only mean one thing here at the and that is our year-end awards program … the Raggies!!!!

Think of it as the Detroit Sports Media version of the Oscars (if Scott Anderson could fit into a tuxedo).

The Raggies will be announced on Thursday, December 28th at 9pm on Periscope and this event promises to be a star-studded affair. I hope to get some winners on the phone so they can thank all of the little people™ (Mitch Albom) in their lives that made this accomplishment possible.

Also, we will have an “In Memoriam” montage to honor all that we’ve lost over the last 12 months.

One piece of business before we get to this year’s nominations though:

The DSR Worst Detroit Sports Media Personality Tournament will not be held this February. Instead it has been officially pushed back to the week of the MLB All-Star Game. We are doing this for a few reasons…

First, since the Raggies have become such a big attraction this year, we wanted to space out our marquee events a bit. Second, since the Tigers will be mathematically eliminated by the All-Star break, there will be nothing else to occupy your mind and we figured this would be a good bridge until college football commences.

Third, it will give us more time to deliver the trophy to last year’s winner (Anthony Fenech). And on that note, we are offering a $100 bounty to anyone who gives us information as to Fenech’s whereabouts so we can make a proper presentation.

Now, back to the Raggies.

A panel of 33 DSR contributors voted on the various awards. We also like to call these folks the “Jeff Moss Enablers.” The voting among these sycophants will continue through Wednesday, December 27th at noon. At that time, the accounting firm of Plante Moran will seal the winning envelopes and hand deliver them to my house where I will announce them on Periscope the next evening.

And without further delay, here are the nominees for the 2018 DSR Raggies …..

Worst Article of the Year

Chris McCosky (Detroit News) — Acknowledging He Knew Brad Ausmus Was Not Coming Back …And Not Reporting It
Anthony Fenech (Detroit Free Press) — Tigers Should Have Fired Brad Ausmus Two Years Earlier Than They Did
Jamie Samuelsen (Detroit Free Press) — Ken Holland is 2nd Most Important Person Behind Nick Lidstrom in Wings’ Cup Era

Best Article of the Year

Carlos Monarrez (Detroit Free Press) —  “Lions Making a Mistake By Keeping Caldwell
John Niyo (Detroit News) —  “Red Wings End Skid, Still Need Course Correction
Gregg Krupa (Detroit News) —  “The Process Isn’t Working

Worst Blogger/Blog Site

Bless You Boys
George Malik
Pride of Detroit

Worst Tweet of the Year

Chris McCosky (Detroit News) — The Justin Verlander Trade is Off

Lynn Henning (Detroit News) — Bombing Justin Verlander for Not Accepting Trade to Houston

Graham Couch (Lansing State Journal) —  Brandon Peters’ Brain Injury “Joke”

Best Twitter Feed

Prashanth Iyer (The Athletic Detroit)
Kyle Meinke (
Justin Rogers (Detroit News)

Worst Twitter Feed

Anthony Fenech (Detroit Free Press)
Gregg Krupa (Detroit News)
Kellie Rowe (Fox-2)

Worst Columnist

Lynn Henning (Detroit News)
Jeff Seidel (Detroit Free Press)
Bob Wojnowski (Detroit News)

Worst Beat Writer

Anthony Fenech (Detroit Free Press)
Chris McCosky (Detroit News)
Helene St. James (Detroit Free Press)

Best Beat Writer

Nick Baumgarner (Detroit Free Press)
Kyle Meinke (
Justin Rogers (Detroit News)

Worst Television Broadcast

Pistons on Fox Sports Detroit
Red Wings on Fox Sports Detroit
Tigers on Fox Sports Detroit

Best Talking Head on TV

Woody Woodriffe (Fox-2)

Worst Talking Head on TV

Brad Galli (WXYZ-7)
John Keating (Fox Sports Detroit)
Justin Rose (WXYZ-7)

Biggest Sports Media Imbecile in Michigan Who’s Not In Detroit

Chris Castellani (Parts Unknown)
Graham Couch (Lansing State Journal)
Bill Simonson (WBBL-FM)

Best Columnist

Carlos Monarrez (Detroit Free Press)
John Niyo (Detroit News)
Prashanth Iyer (The Athletic Detroit)

Worst Radio Broadcast Team

Ken Kal and Paul Woods (Red Wings Broadcast Network)
Jim Brandstatter and Dan Dierdorf (U of M Football Network)
Will Tieman and Gus Ganakas (MSU Basketball Network)

Best Radio Broadcast Team

Mark Champion and Rick Mahorn (Pistons Radio Network)
Dan Miller and Jim Brandstatter (Lions Radio Network)
There Isn’t One

Worst Sports Radio Talk Show

The Virgin Manatee and Ann Arbor Douglas (97.1)
Back Hair and Jizz Bucket (97.1)
Ass Clown Valenti and the Sycophant Millennial Douche Bags (97.1)

Best Radio Talk Show

No Entries

Worst Detroit Sports Media Development of the Year

Kellie Rowe Becoming a Thing
The Detroit Athletic
Channel 20 Breaches Contract with DSR TV Show

Media Fight of the Year

Mike Valenti vs. Braylon Edwards

Tony Paul vs  Matt Dery’s Classroom

Tony Paul vs. Chris McCosky